Vicki Torr Memorial Prize

The Vicki Torr Memorial Fund was established in 1993 as a memorial to Australian glass artist, Vicki Torr (1949-1992); its purpose to reflect Vicki’s life and work by encouraging excellence in Australian studio glass. It is a cash prize of $8,000 (+GST)

This prize is open to current members of Ausglass and represents a fantastic opportunity to participate in a national exhibition that will be viewed by curators and major galleries from around Australia. 

Criteria for entered works are that they must be:

  • ♦  the artist’s original work
  • ♦  predominantly made from glass
  • ♦  made within the prior 18 months (i.e. since July 2017)

The prize-winner is peer-selected, voted by Ausglass members in a competition that runs in conjunction with Ausglass biennial conferences. In 2019, this will be a collaborative conference with New Zealand Artists in Glass (NZSAG). In aknowledgment of the barriers posed - especially for emerging artists - in exhibiting works outside of Australia, this year’s Vicki Torr Memorial Prize competition will be conducted online.

The prize is awarded on the basis of the highest number of votes cast by Ausglass members through the voting period (1-14 February, 2019). The prize-winner will be announced on 17 February, 2019, the closing day of the The CoLab Conference, Whanganui, New Zealand,

To enter for the 2019 Vicki Torr Memorial Prize complete the ONLINE ENTRY FORM

Queries should be directed to Christine Atkins at

Previous Winners of the Vicki Torr Memorial Prize

2017    Clare Peters 2007    Lee Mathers
2015    George Agius 2005   Cobi Cockburn & Daniela Turin (co-recipients)
2013    Melinda Willis 2003   Simon Butler
2011    Lee Howes 2001   Scott Chaseling
2009    Lee Mathers & Ruth Oliphant (co-recipients)  1999   Kirstie Rea